Skip to main content
McKinsey Global Institute

Livestream from Davos: Climate risk and response

At the World Economic Forum Annual Meeting, leaders from the insurance and risk industries will discuss the economics of physical climate risk and how to better measure and manage its impacts.

Thursday, January 23
14:30 CET / 13:30 GMT / 8:30 EST

Climate change is already here and intensifying, so are the risks. Everyone is affected: either first hand, through floods, hurricanes, fire, drought, or extreme temperatures, or through interconnections in global financial, economic, and social systems.

While climate risk is starting to be recognized by financial markets, corporations, countries and individuals, many may still be over exposed to the risks. That is why the McKinsey Global Institute (MGI) has undertaken a new research effort to help key decision-makers objectively understand the specific physical risks and costs of climate change, illustrate the socio-economic impact that can be expected between and 2050, and identify actions to manage that risk.

During this livestreamed event at the World Economic Forum Annual Meeting, MGI will provide a brief overview of its new report on physical climate risk and convene leaders from the insurance and risk industries to discuss the economics of physical climate risk and how stakeholders can better measure and manage their exposure.

Speakers will include:

  • Jonathan Woetzel, Director, McKinsey Global Institute
  • Dickon Pinner, Global Leader, Sustainability Practice, McKinsey & Company
  • Veronica Scotti, Chairperson Public Sector Solutions, SwissRe
  • Carl Hess, Head of Investment, Risk and Reinsurance at Willis Towers Watson
  • Moderator: Georg Schmitt, World Economic Forum