لمحة عن برنامج ”إعداد“ من ماكنزي الشرق الأوسط

edad

تزاول شركة ماكنزي أعمالها في الشرق الأوسط منذ عام 1957، حيث تُركز على إتاحة النمو ودفع عجلة التنمية قدمًا على الرغم من الاضطرابات التي تشهدها المنطقة، ومساعدة المؤسسات في التصدي للمسائل الأكثر أهمية وإلحاحًا بالنسبة إليها.

ارتكز نمو المنطقة طوال الخمسين عامًا الماضية على سيلٍ من المواهب الدولية، فيما تواجه اليوم أحد أصعب تحدياتها متمثلًا في اكتشاف أصحاب المواهب المحليين واستقطابهم والمحافظة عليهم وتهيئتهم وصقل مهاراتهم ليصبحوا قادة المستقبل.

ومن واقع تصدينا لهذا التحدّي والتزامنا الراسخ بتطوير مواردنا البشريّة، فإننا نبتكر حاليًا أسلوبًا جديدًا في اكتشاف المواهب وتنميتها في الشرق الأوسط. فأسّسنا، على سبيل المثال، برنامج ”إعداد“ في عام 2010، وهو برنامج يستمر عدّة أيام يُقدّم للطلّاب الشرق أوسطيين الواعدين في مدن مختلفة عبر الولايات المتحدة وأوروبا والشرق الأوسط. ويتعرف المشاركون من خلاله على مضمار الاستشارات، ويشاركون في برامج التعلّم المهنية من أجل تطوير المهارات الأساسية التي ستخدمهم في مكان العمل، ويكتسبون أفكارًا مطّلعة حول ماكنزي وطبيعة عملها في الشرق الأوسط، ويخطون أولى خطواتهم نحو بناء مسيرتهم المهنية في ماكنزي من خلال التدريب على المقابلات والتحضير لها.

edad program

لقد أُنشئ البرنامج بهدف صقل وتنمية قائمة منوّعة من طلّاب الشرق الأوسط الموهوبين الذين يدرسون في مجموعة واسعة من الجامعات (مثل جامعة الملك فهد للبترول والمعادن، وجامعة الملك عبد الله للعلوم والتّقنيّة، وجامعة نيويورك أبوظبي، ومعهد ماساتشوستس للتكنولوجيا، وجامعة هارفارد، وجامعة أكسفورد، ومعهد IE لإدارة الأعمال في إسبانيا) ومن شتى التخصّصات الأكاديميّة، من الفيزياء والرياضيات والهندسة إلى الفنون والعلوم الاجتماعيّة والاقتصاد. وقد شارك في البرنامج أكثر من 300 شخص خلال السّنوات الثماني الماضية.

وفي معرض تعليقه على برنامج ”إعداد“، وضّح طارق المصري، المدير التنفيذيّ لمكتب ماكنزي في الشّرق الأوسط، قائلًا: ”لا شكّ أن هذه المنطقة بحاجة ماسّة إلى وجود كفاءات قياديّة وإلى أشخاص قادرين على المساعدة في تحسين نمو المؤسّسات العامة والخاصةّ. ويتيح لنا هذا البرنامج أن نلتقي بأفراد مذهلين يرغبون بأن يكونوا جزءًا فاعلًا من مستقبل هذه المنطقة... فينضم بعضهم إلى ماكنزي، ويعمل آخرون لدى مؤسّسات أخرى، وينشئ بعضهم شركاتهم الخاصة، لكن المهم أنهم جميعًا يساهمون ويلهمون غيرهم“.

كما يوفّر برنامج ”إعداد“ فرصًا مهنية عديدة للمشاركين فيه، إذ يتقدّم 50 بالمائة تقريبًا من خريجي البرنامج للعمل في ماكنزي، بل أن قبولهم في البرنامج يضمن لهم إجراء مقابلة لشغل وظيفة بدوام كامل في الشركة. بينما يختار بقية المشاركون التقدّم لشغل مناصب قياديّة في شركات أخرى، ويُنفّذ 5 بالمائة منهم أعمالهم التجارية الخاصة.

edad program

وقد علّق وليد، وهو محلل أعمال في مكتب ماكنزي بدبي، بقوله أن مشاركته في برنامج ”إعداد“ كانت بمثابة الدافع الذي حفّزه لخوض مجال الاستشارات، مضيفًا: ”كنت أعرف أنني أريد العودة إلى الشرق الأوسط بعد الانتهاء من دراستي في جامعة (XYZ) بالولايات المتحدة، فوجدت في برنامج “إعداد” فرصة ذهبية للتواصل مع أشخاص يشاطرونني التفكير وفي نفس عمري، وللتعرّف أيضًا على طبيعة العمل كاستشاري من زملاء يعملون حاليًا في ماكنزي. لقد غادرتُ البرنامج وأنا أشعر بأنني عرفّتُ هؤلاء الأشخاص حقّ المعرفة، وحصلت على وجهه نظرٍ من شخص مطّلع بطبيعة العمل لدى ماكنزي. وعرفت ما قد أكتسبه من هذه الوظيفة وكيف يُمكنني المساهمة بفاعلية في تغيير دولتي“.

بينما أشار عبدالله، وهو مدير مشروع في مكتب دبي وأحد خريجي برنامج ”إعداد“ وعضو حالي في هيئة التدريس، إلى أن أكثر ما أثار اهتمامه هو ”التحدث لبضعة أيام مع الموهوبين من الشباب الخليجيين عن اهتماماتهم، وتبادل الخبرات المماثلة معهم، ومساعدة بعضنا في التّفكير حول القرارات المهنية“.

للمزيد من المعلومات حول برنامجنا ”إعداد“، انقر هنا.

Back to edad program

A glimpse into McKinsey’s Middle East edad program


McKinsey has been in the Middle East since 1957. We focus on unlocking growth and development in the region despite turbulent times, and helping organizations address their most critical issues.

The region’s growth for the last 50 years has been fueled by a flow of international talent; today, one of its critical challenges is identifying, attracting, and retaining locals and grooming them to become future leaders.

We are rising to this challenge and are committed to our people, therefore we are innovating the way we identify and develop Middle Eastern talent. For example, we launched our edad program in 2010. Held in various cities across the United States, Europe, and the Middle East, edad is a multi-day program for high potential Middle Eastern students. Participants discover the universe of consulting, take part in professional learning programs to develop critical skills needed for the workplace, gain insights into McKinsey and our work in the Middle East, and take the first steps toward building a career through interview coaching and preparation.

edad program

The program was established to nurture and develop a diverse pool of talented Middle Eastern students from a wide variety of universities and academic backgrounds. Historically, edad participants have come from universities in the United States (Yale, MIT, Harvard), Europe (Oxford, IE), and the Middle East (KFUPM, KAUST, NYU Abu Dhabi) and from all academic backgrounds, from physics, math, and engineering to the arts, social sciences, and economics. Over the past eight years, more than 300 people have participated in edad, one-third of whom have been women.

Tarek Elmasry, the head of McKinsey’s Middle East office explains “this region has a tremendous need for leadership and for people who can help improve public and private organizations. Through edad, we meet incredible individuals who want to be part of this region’s future… some join McKinsey, others join different organizations, and some start their own businesses, but all of them contribute and inspire.”

The edad program provides numerous career opportunities for participants. Approximately 50% of edad alumni apply to McKinsey; in fact, getting accepted to edad guarantees an interview spot for a full-time role at the firm. The rest of the participants opt for leading roles in other enterprises, with 5% starting their own businesses.

edad program

Waleed, a business analyst in McKinsey’s Dubai office, says his participation in edad was the spark that ignited his interest in consulting. “I knew I wanted to move back to the Middle East after finishing my degree. I saw edad as a great opportunity to connect with like-minded people my age and hear from current McKinsey colleagues about what it is like to be a consultant. I left feeling I had genuinely gotten to know these people and was given an insider’s perspective into McKinsey. I learned what I could expect to gain from the job and how I could play a meaningful role in changing my country.”

What resonated most with Abdullah, an engagement manager in Dubai, and an edad alum and current faculty member, was “spending a few days talking with young GCC talent about their interests, sharing similar experiences, and helping each other think about career decisions.”

For more information on our edad program, visit the edad event site.