Über Udo

Udo Kopka arbeitet in Hamburg und Peking als einer der Leiter des Bereichs globale Strategie im Automobil-, Handels- und Konsumgütersektor von McKinsey. Er berät führende Unternehmen mit Schwerpunkt auf multinationalen Konzernen sowie neuen Marktteilnehmern in Schwellenländern zu einer großen Breite von Themen, wie der Entwicklung globaler Digitalisierungs- und Wachstumsstrategien, der Restrukturierung von Operating Models genauso wie der Definition von Pricing- und Finanzmodellen.

Udo Kopka spielt im Konsumgütersektor eine zentrale Rolle im Wissensaufbau. Zurzeit leitet er die Globale Growth Compass-Forschung von McKinsey. Mit den Erkenntnissen aus dieser proprietären Datenbank hilft McKinsey Konsumgüterunternehmen dabei, weltweit profitable Wachstumsfelder zu identifizieren und zu erschließen.

Udo Kopka war Gründer und Leiter des Handels- und Konsumgütersektors von McKinsey für den Nahen Osten und Afrika, wo er zahlreiche führende Unternehmen über viele Jahre zu Themen wie Wachstum, Digitalisierung und Turnaround beraten hat.

Außerdem war er Leiter des Handels- und Konsumgütersektors von McKinsey in China, wo er führenden Konsumgüterkonzernen half, die Chancen, die sich aus dem schnell aufstrebenden Mittelstand ergaben, zu nutzen.

Udo Kopka ist seit 1994 bei McKinsey; vorher hat er für Degussa in Asien, die Deutsche Bank in Südamerika und IBM in Europa gearbeitet. 

VERÖFFENTLICHUNGEN

"The New Model for Consumer Goods," McKinsey & Company, January 2018

"12 disruptive trends in FMCG" McKinsey & Company, January 2018

"Digital transformation of Chinese dairy industry: An interview with Mengniu CEO" McKinsey & Company, December 2017

From bottom to top: Turning around the top team,” McKinsey & Company, November 2014

Growth in the packaged-food industry,” McKinsey & Company, October 2014

Finding profits and growth in emerging markets,” McKinsey & Company, January 2012

AUSBILDUNG

WHU - Otto Beisheim School of Management Vallendar
Promotion, Business Administration

Georgetown University Washington
Business Administration

WHU - Otto Beisheim School of Management Vallendar
Master, Business Administration

Universidad Adolfo Ibañez Chile
Internationales Marketing, Finanzen

Pennsylvania State University
Internationale Beziehungen, Business Administration, Logistik

About Udo

Udo is a senior partner at McKinsey & Company, based in Hamburg and Shanghai.

He is currently leader of McKinsey’s Consumer Packaged Goods and Retail Practices in China and is co-leader of the Consumer Asia Pacific Consumer Practice. In addition, he is leading the global growth compass research of McKinsey that helps consumer goods companies to identify profitable pockets of growth on a worldwide basis.

In 2007 he founded ConsuMEA, which focuses on McKinsey’s consumer and retail work in the Middle East and Africa.

His clients are among the world’s most respected leaders in the consumer goods and retail industries. This includes multinational companies, but also the rising stars in emerging markets. He advises them on all major topics covering the top management agenda.

Udo joined McKinsey in 1994 after having worked for Degussa in Asia, Deutsche Bank in South America, and IBM in Europe.

Udo is an active and contributing member of a series of non-profit organizations such as Der Übersee-Club, the Anglo-German Club, and the American Club.

He graduated from the WHU Otto Beisheim School of Management in Koblenz, Germany, after studying in the United States at the University of Pennsylvania and in Chile at the Universidad Adolfo Ibañez. Udo holds a PhD in Economics.


Otto Beisheim School of Management

Otto Beisheim School of Management